PC Plug ins to use on Mac - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

PC Plug ins to use on Mac

Support for the VST To RTAS Adapter

Moderators: Drew_fx, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, Moderators

namjam
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:44 pm

PC Plug ins to use on Mac

Postby namjam » Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:07 pm

I used to run Cubase on my PC with various plugins. I now have a Mac Book and run Pro Tools and tried to convert some of my old Vst's, so i can use them in Pro Tools. I have succesfully converted some of them to RTAS on my PC and dragged the wrappers to my Plugins folder on my Mac HD but Pro Tools doesnt see them. Do I need to INSTALL these plug ins on my Mac or is the wrapper enough? ( My Plugins are .exe files which are not compatible with Mac!)

User avatar
AshleySmith08
Posts: 2206
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:03 pm
Location: www.seattleunderground.co.uk
Contact:

Postby AshleySmith08 » Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:04 pm

Hi,

You need to download OSX version of your plug-ins from the respective companies' websites, and then use the wrapper on your Mac to port them to the RTAS format.

:)
Engineer/Producer/Musician/Media Content Creator
Website: http://www.seattleunderground.co.uk
CV: https://app.box.com/s/oiulec8q1eyqn2r0s46k
MacPro 12 Core 2x2.4 GHz, 24 GB Ram | MacBook Pro 2.8GHz i7, 16GB Ram
10.8.4/10.10.4, UA Apollo Quad, PT 12.x

filnobep
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:24 am

Postby filnobep » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:37 pm

so you can't convert pc VSTs on a Mac version of the program???

I wish I would have got the heads up before spending money buying the program! :evil:

$99 down the drain!

User avatar
mayur_FX
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 11:58 am
Location: FX HQ, London

Postby mayur_FX » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:44 pm

It's clearly listed in the FAQs:

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=15&tab=64#166

The question has also been asked and answered several times on the forum.

Buying the adapter is not 'money down the drain' - there are plenty of Mac OSX VST plugins that are not available as RTAS plugins.. the adapter allows you to use them.
Mayur Maha
FXpansion Audio [http://www.fxpansion.com]
Please do not PM me - use the support ticket system instead

filnobep
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:24 am

Postby filnobep » Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:55 pm

mayur_FX wrote:It's clearly listed in the FAQs:

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=15&tab=64#166

The question has also been asked and answered several times on the forum.

Buying the adapter is not 'money down the drain' - there are plenty of Mac OSX VST plugins that are not available as RTAS plugins.. the adapter allows you to use them.


Now i been searching for a whole week and i couldnt find one good Mac VST. I didnt even know there were VSTs for Mac which would explain why I expected this program to convert PC vsts to work on the Mac computers. Outside of that there are no good, free pitch correction VSTs... really no VSTs outside of Reverbs, Compressors and stuff that already comes with any recording program.

User avatar
AshleySmith08
Posts: 2206
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 12:03 pm
Location: www.seattleunderground.co.uk
Contact:

Postby AshleySmith08 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:07 pm

filnobep wrote:
mayur_FX wrote:It's clearly listed in the FAQs:

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=15&tab=64#166

The question has also been asked and answered several times on the forum.

Buying the adapter is not 'money down the drain' - there are plenty of Mac OSX VST plugins that are not available as RTAS plugins.. the adapter allows you to use them.


Now i been searching for a whole week and i couldnt find one good Mac VST. I didnt even know there were VSTs for Mac which would explain why I expected this program to convert PC vsts to work on the Mac computers. Outside of that there are no good, free pitch correction VSTs... really no VSTs outside of Reverbs, Compressors and stuff that already comes with any recording program.


If you're on Pro Tools why not use Elastic Pitch? Or buy X-Form, Melodyne or the like :)
Engineer/Producer/Musician/Media Content Creator
Website: http://www.seattleunderground.co.uk
CV: https://app.box.com/s/oiulec8q1eyqn2r0s46k
MacPro 12 Core 2x2.4 GHz, 24 GB Ram | MacBook Pro 2.8GHz i7, 16GB Ram
10.8.4/10.10.4, UA Apollo Quad, PT 12.x


Return to “VST To RTAS Adapter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron