Page 1 of 1

Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:49 pm
by tebby
Hi,
After doing some testings on the Tremor demo for a few days, I bought Tremor just a while ago with the intention of using it on my Ubuntu Laptop. And it worked really well so far. 8)
And then Strobe 2 caught my attention. (Demo version) I was hoping that it would work on my Ubuntu machine. Sadly It didn't.
Anyways, crash logs attached. (dmp files too large).
Thanks

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 6:44 pm
by Angus_FX
What's the spec on your laptop? If you can put the dmp files on a dropbox or some such, I can take a look.

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:43 am
by tebby
The latest crash report and laptop spec in the zip file. Maybe the previous one should be discarded.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/c3kie61rgo9poff/Strobe%20Crash.zip?dl=0

Attached also screenshot of what happened.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/42mw508k11sw430/Screenshot%20from%202016-01-01%2012%3A24%3A03.png?dl=0

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 12:01 pm
by Angus_FX
Thanks. Do you happen to know if your Ubuntu / Wine environment supports the Direct2D & DirectWrite Windows APIs?

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 4:21 pm
by tebby
I am using wine1.8 and wine1.9 staging which I think don't implement complete DirectWrite and Direct2D APIs.

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:10 pm
by Angus_FX
That could be the problem. Will take a look at the crashlog when I'm back in the office, but it's certainly something in the GUI drawing code that's blowing up.

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:57 pm
by tebby
Thanks!

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:50 pm
by Angus_FX
As I thought, it's DirectWrite blowing up.

There's a new build coming soonish which will have a couple of extra error checks - should allow it to run at least, but without text. Keep an eye out for announcements of new builds & take it for a spin when it's ready.

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 12:26 pm
by tebby
Good to know that. I'll definitely check it out.

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:26 am
by hholler
Angus, Tebby, has there been any progress on the Linux front? I'm trying to run the Strobe 2 Berklee edition on Linux Mint / LMMS, but haven't been able to get it to run.

Helge

Re: Strobe 2 not working on Ubuntu 14.04 (I know it's not supported)

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:06 pm
by Angus_FX
@tebby can you drop me a line angus /at/ fxpansion /dot/ com, I can get you on the beta programme - there's a new update going to the beta testers today or Monday, would be worth checking it out.

Also, I take it you tried the 2.0.2.17 build from summer last year?