Expansion packs not showing... - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Expansion packs not showing...

Support for BFD Expansion Packs and Convertors

Moderators: Drew_fx, clare_fx, SKoT_FX, Steve_FX, john emrich, Mully_FX, mayur_FX, Angus_FX, Andreas_FX, Rory_FX, Rhi_FX, Paul_fx, Moderators

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:44 am

a) Trying to remember what triggered this problem but can't remember !!!!


b) searching through the forum what I have done:

b.1. Updated to the last version;
b.2. did the set up of the locations as per screenshot.. but for many packs the engine simply won't take the path.
b.3. paths ignored by the engine have exactly the same structure of the others : data is in an external drive (E:), under Audio, where each pack has its own Audio Folder with the Data inside.

c) went to extreme to reinstall many packs (not all of them since I did not know if it would work or not).... but no luck. For example the Neil Peart, Hugh Padham, all Zildjan Gen Packs... Bill Cobbham.. the engine simply does not take them.


I would appreciate any help you guys can provide me with.
Attachments
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_1.png (574.65 KiB) Viewed 6759 times
Roland TD 30KV
Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM
Reaper
Superior 2/EzDrummmer
BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:48 am

For reference a screenshot of a working pack BFD Sabian Digital Vault versus a non working Pack ZP1 Cymbals

Again the Data structure:

e: External drive;
Folder named Audio
Under Audio each pack has its own folder.. and the Data within another Audio Folder

Pim
Attachments
Screenshot_3.png
Screenshot_3.png (420.69 KiB) Viewed 6759 times
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
purtington
Posts: 3102
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby purtington » Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:37 pm

I can't enlarge the pictures properly so hard to tell but is this the structure you've always used and it works for some but not others?

I'm a bit concerned that your folders for each pack are named, "audio" rather than, the kits name and then audio so for example,
I have the 8 bit kit and it's paths is, "D:\FXpansion\8 Bit Kit\Audio"
Next I have the Deluxe Kit and it's paths is, "D:\FXpansion\BFD Deluxe Kit\Audio"

So the word audio comes after the kits name. I'm just wondering if this is throwing BFD3 as I don't see in any of your screen shots where the kits name comes first in the line, I think "audio" should be at the end of the path name.

I hope that makes sense but I strongly suspect this might be the cause although I can't see from your images (which are a bit small) why it would work for some and not others if you have the same path for all of your kits.

Below is a shot of my folder structure, as you can see I have a, "mother folder" I have named FXpansion, then I created folders with the expansion kits names, (because previous experience has taught me that the installer doesn't always do this) then inside each expansion kits folder is the folder named, "audio"

Steve
Attachments
BFD data paths.jpg
BFD data paths.jpg (117.87 KiB) Viewed 6759 times
https://soundcloud.com/steve-corr

GA-X58A-UD3R,
Intel i7 930, 2.8Ghz, Overclocked at 3.40Ghz
12GB Corsair DDR3 Ram
WD Caviar Black, 6Gb X 2
+ 500GB SSD drive for BFD Samples
focusrite scarlett 2i4
Windows 10 + windows 7 32bit

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:29 pm

Hummm... let me try this man.... the only difference between yours and mine is the "root" folder...

Tks

Pim
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:29 am

DId not work...... :-(

FX guys.. should I poen a support ticket? any help?


Tks
Attachments
Screenshot_7.png
Screenshot_7.png (868.86 KiB) Viewed 6757 times
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:57 am

I am really upset right now. Got the following instructions from support:

BFD3 might be confused because you named the folders "Audio"

please take a look at the following PDF file
http://www.fxpansion1.com/InstallingExpansions.pdf

it's been made with BFD2 in mind but the same logic still applies.

basically on your external drive create one folder called "FXpansionSamples" and then install each expansion pack into its own folder but give each folder the name of the pack so "JNF", "XFL" "8bitkit" "YOK" etc.

and then have BFD3 scan this FXpansionSamples folder to find the expansion packs. "

Nothing :-(
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
purtington
Posts: 3102
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby purtington » Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:44 pm

Just to test it still works that way, I completely removed all my content paths, I then clicked the, "search folder" button and pointed BFD3 to my FXpansion mother folder. It scanned it and showed all the expansion kits and they are all working so I don't know what you are doing wrong if this is what you did and it hasn't worked for you.

The last picture you posted of all your expansion kits looks good to me so I would want to know what's inside each of those folders.
You have a LOT of expansion kits by the way. I'm quite jealous :wink:

I am NOT fxpansion support by the way, I am a long time user who along with a few others try to help people with their BFD3 related issues.
So if you can post a shot of your BFD3 contents page like I have added below and maybe a shot of what's inside just one of your kit folders, say for example, what folder is inside your 1965 Ludwig Super Classic Kit? It should be either, audio or data, they are bother essentially the same but different names. If audio or data isn't inside each expansion folder then I think that's going to cause a problem.

We'll get there in the end and I'm sure we're pretty close.

Steve
Attachments
BFD3 contents page.jpg
BFD3 contents page.jpg (181.21 KiB) Viewed 6710 times
https://soundcloud.com/steve-corr

GA-X58A-UD3R,
Intel i7 930, 2.8Ghz, Overclocked at 3.40Ghz
12GB Corsair DDR3 Ram
WD Caviar Black, 6Gb X 2
+ 500GB SSD drive for BFD Samples
focusrite scarlett 2i4
Windows 10 + windows 7 32bit

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:08 am

Thanks man for taking the time and stopping by Purtington... If I could only get these packs to work... :shock:

Comparing working packs... with those not working I noticed the following and was able to "fix"at least the Zildjian and Neil Peart Packs.

a) changed the folder names as suggested by the support person to the three initial words. For exampls Neil Peart.. I changed to NPK.
b) so now I have FxpansionSamples/ NPK/ Audio/ Neil Peart Kit / and within the last folder the samples
c) noticed some packs had the samples within the Audio folder, but not in a subfolder... as the other working packs.
d) changed as b) and for the ZIldjian packs/ Neil Peart/ Hugh Padham.. it worked.
e) did not work for the others... for example the Bill Cobham pack.... and Peter Erskine


Soo confusing.. what am I doing wrong? In the attachment you will notice a working pack I manually changed as described above Neil Peart
and a non working pack Nick Mason.. in the details....



Pim
Attachments
Screenshot_22.jpg
Screenshot_22.jpg (830.76 KiB) Viewed 6708 times
Nick Mason.jpg
Nick Mason.jpg (834.04 KiB) Viewed 6708 times
NPK.jpg
NPK.jpg (704.77 KiB) Viewed 6708 times
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
purtington
Posts: 3102
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby purtington » Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:26 am

pimenta wrote: b) so now I have FxpansionSamples/ NPK/ Audio/ Neil Peart Kit / and within the last folder the samplesPim


This is what's wrong, having another folder inside the, "audio" (or data) folder with the name of the expansion kit is the problem.

The, "Audio" folder will have sub folders but these will usually be kit pieces like snare, kick. floor, tom or they will be kit pieces inside folders with the manufacturers name, eg paiste, rogers, sonar, yamaha and so on

I'm pretty sure the Audio folder will never have another folder inside that is the name of the expansion kit. Having said that BFD3 core library does have 7 folders inside named BFD3 Kit 1 to Kit 7 but this is because there are 7 separate kits that come with BFD3.

So, I would suggest taking everything out of the folder named, "Neil Peart Kit" and moving it to the, "Audio" folder and then delete the, "Neil Peart Kit" then rescan your databases. and check that its working before doing the same for all your other expansion kits that have the same structure.

We may have to do this kit by kit which makes me wonder, how many kits do you have that aren't working?
I would check the ones that are working just to conform what I have said but in my structure the, Audio" folder doesn't have any folders inside with the name of the expansion kit.


Steve
https://soundcloud.com/steve-corr

GA-X58A-UD3R,
Intel i7 930, 2.8Ghz, Overclocked at 3.40Ghz
12GB Corsair DDR3 Ram
WD Caviar Black, 6Gb X 2
+ 500GB SSD drive for BFD Samples
focusrite scarlett 2i4
Windows 10 + windows 7 32bit

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:44 am

Steve

Sorry if I gave the wrong impression. But here it worked the other way around...

Neil Peart Kit pieces were within the Audio Folder, BFD3 would not even take/recognize or accept the path. Same thing for the Zildjian. The moment I created the sub folder... BFD3 took it and the Neil Peart and Zildjian packs are working fine.

Same is not true for the others I have... same structure ... the system takes the paths.... but presets wont load just showing exclamation marks. Will share more screen shots.

Pim
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
purtington
Posts: 3102
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby purtington » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:19 am

pimenta wrote:Steve

Sorry if I gave the wrong impression. But here it worked the other way around...

Neil Peart Kit pieces were within the Audio Folder, BFD3 would not even take/recognize or accept the path. Same thing for the Zildjian. The moment I created the sub folder... BFD3 took it and the Neil Peart and Zildjian packs are working fine.


Ah yes sorry, you're right.
I have the Neil Peart Drums Vol. 1 and yes, inside the audio folder is another folder named, "Neil Peart Kit"
My bad :oops:

pimenta wrote:Same is not true for the others I have... same structure ... the system takes the paths.... but presets wont load just showing exclamation marks. Will share more screen shots.Pim


So the presets are showing but you get yellow triangles when you try to load them?
That would suggest there is still something wrong with the data path/structure even though BFD3 didn't reject them.

When you load the preset I think it should tell you what kit pieces should be loaded so I would see if those pieces can be loaded manually.
Just load the preset and go to the drums tab and look for the associated kit piece and see if it loads. If so you can go through and load all the kit pieces and re-save the preset.

I'm not suggesting you do this as a work around but it might help figure out what's going on. I suspect that although BFD3 accepted the paths you'll find that the kit pieces wont load.

You have so many expansion kits that I don't have so may not be able to give the correct paths for all of them. Some 3rd party kits seem to have different naming/folder structures.

How many do you have that aren't loading and which ones are they?


Steve
https://soundcloud.com/steve-corr

GA-X58A-UD3R,
Intel i7 930, 2.8Ghz, Overclocked at 3.40Ghz
12GB Corsair DDR3 Ram
WD Caviar Black, 6Gb X 2
+ 500GB SSD drive for BFD Samples
focusrite scarlett 2i4
Windows 10 + windows 7 32bit

User avatar
pimenta
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:30 pm

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby pimenta » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:54 am

Thanks for sticking around.

Yes, I do have the yellow triangles and yes for many packs.. although I have the yellow triangle... when I do a search I am able to load individual kit pieces.... any thoughts?

Fxpansion guys... anybody around?? not much movement around here .... :?

Pim
Roland TD 30KV

Roland Studio Capture/Dell XPS I7 16GB RAM

Reaper

Superior 2/EzDrummmer

BFD3/SSD4/Native Instruments Abbey Road/Studio Drummer/Addictive Drums 2

User avatar
purtington
Posts: 3102
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:37 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: Expansion packs not showing...

Postby purtington » Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:42 am

You should really contact tech support if you haven't already as this forum isn't the official point of contact although the fx team do check
it's not as often. Their on line support page can be found here. https://www.fxpansion.com/support/technical/


It's very odd that you're getting yellow triangles whilst the kit pieces load individually and I'm really not sure what else to advise from here.


Steve
https://soundcloud.com/steve-corr

GA-X58A-UD3R,
Intel i7 930, 2.8Ghz, Overclocked at 3.40Ghz
12GB Corsair DDR3 Ram
WD Caviar Black, 6Gb X 2
+ 500GB SSD drive for BFD Samples
focusrite scarlett 2i4
Windows 10 + windows 7 32bit


Return to “BFD Expansion Packs & Convertors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests