FEATURE REQUESTS - Page 10 - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

FEATURE REQUESTS

User and tech support forum for Geist 2.

Moderator: Moderators

phraggle
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:11 pm
Location: nova scotia, canada
Contact:

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby phraggle » Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:00 pm

I love everything Geist does, with one exception, hence my feature request today:

Please allow for the Pad Mixer outputs to be set to defaults, or saved or locked in some way. I have Geist set up in my Logic default template with multiple outputs enabled. The problem is that the outputs all default back to "Parent" within Geist whenever it's instantiated, and I have to repeatedly (and manually) set them all back to 1 thru 15 which, frankly, gets a bit tedious...

I tried setting the outputs up then saving as that as the default Geist preset in Logic, but no dice.

Perhaps this is already possible and I'm just not seeing it? All I want is for my default, blank Geist plugin to default to outputs 1 thru 15 in the Pad Mixer.

Thanks!

seige313
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:54 am

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby seige313 » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:14 pm

Have you tried saving this default in Geist itself? Try that! That might help.. Instead of trying to save using "Logics" save feature..



phraggle wrote:I love everything Geist does, with one exception, hence my feature request today:

Please allow for the Pad Mixer outputs to be set to defaults, or saved or locked in some way. I have Geist set up in my Logic default template with multiple outputs enabled. The problem is that the outputs all default back to "Parent" within Geist whenever it's instantiated, and I have to repeatedly (and manually) set them all back to 1 thru 15 which, frankly, gets a bit tedious...

I tried setting the outputs up then saving as that as the default Geist preset in Logic, but no dice.

Perhaps this is already possible and I'm just not seeing it? All I want is for my default, blank Geist plugin to default to outputs 1 thru 15 in the Pad Mixer.

Thanks!

kneecapped
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby kneecapped » Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:58 pm

Cant you just copy the sound to another engine? Set the grid to a higher resolution resample and then reimport as a sliced file and place back where you want. That way you have even more control over the sound and turn off gate you then have note repeats? As for the time stretch, I thought the time stretch function was pretty good in Geist, as for values you can set the range to whatever you want,50percent 100 percent, Nothing is going to sound like the original source once you start going to extremes. And that goes for any time stretch out there. Ableton once you go a few octaves up or down sounds pretty crap,so does mellodyne,and elastique. Its all relative to what kind of sound you use in the first place anyway. But I actually find that Geist stretch is pretty damn good. Its never stopped me from working with it.I take it for what it is like all time stretch functions. If it sounds good stretched ill use it.If it doesn't I wont...I would definitely pick it over serato sample any day...In fact I sold serato sample because I realised Geist hammers it into the ground...

phraggle
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:11 pm
Location: nova scotia, canada
Contact:

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby phraggle » Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:05 pm

seige313 wrote:Have you tried saving this default in Geist itself? Try that! That might help.. Instead of trying to save using "Logics" save feature..


Yes, tried saving as default Logic preset and as a default Geist preset. No dice.

Saukar30
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby Saukar30 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 1:19 pm

I have a super small request.

I understand this may go against the whole paradigm of the visualization of Geist... but I would like it that in the pattern page that the pads be listed numerically from 1-16, 17-32 downwards.

Coming from different programs, I tend to look at numbers the way they were meant to be read in order... and reading them backwards always confuses me. Maybe there could be just a preference change.

betbond
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby betbond » Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:22 am

Request for custom divisions per beat. E.g. Being able to set the grid to 3 or 6 steps per beat instead of 4

mkruse
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby mkruse » Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:31 am

Global Humanise feature, that will shift all note timing and velocities by random values for all lanes.

OR

Global Graphs per engine - so I don't have to randomise velocity/ shift for each individual lane.

AND

Snap Feature - Allow for steps to be input or played off the grid (controller / paint brush)

AND

Change the Grid Resolution - Triplet Grid, Syncopation of 16ths / 32nds / Dotted

djthermal
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:25 pm

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby djthermal » Sun Sep 23, 2018 7:09 pm

Huge Geist fan here. A few suggestions:

-as mentioned already it would be great to be able to save default outputs per pad, maybe also alternatively per pad type or per engine.

-in Geist 1 the second envelope was normalled to the filter cutoff, which made it a doddle to tweak filter envelopes. This should also be the case in Geist 2. (I don't think it is without using transmod.)

-it is very easy to run into the red, and at multiple stages at that. A -12 dB option would be great for retaining internal fader resolution whilst avoiding overs.

-midi learn for sample browser functions!

-midi learn for setting start and end point (and zooming)!!

-I want to use the Gated pad mode and alternate loop function on my chopped funk breaks to avoid cut off notes when pitching individual slices up, but have noticed that this often results in a stuck loop when I stop playback. Very, very annoying. This is in logic x btw. Seems like Geist does not receive a midi note off when playback is stopped (?).

jesussaddle
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:51 am

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby jesussaddle » Wed Sep 26, 2018 12:49 am

Wow, counting the days till the new update. Thanks guys!

jesussaddle
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 3:51 am

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby jesussaddle » Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:57 am

Day 9, Day 8, Day 7...

mw247
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: FEATURE REQUESTS

Postby mw247 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 11:54 pm

Adjust start and end point using Qwerty shortcuts.

Maybe adjust start point with Ctrl + left/right arrows and end points with Shift + left/right arrows.


Return to “Geist2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests