What's going on? - Page 2 - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

What's going on?

User and tech support forum for Geist 2.

Moderator: Moderators

stufflin
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby stufflin » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:13 pm

Update would be nice!
Gui default resizing and patternnudgewraparoundproblem are of my interested besides some other ones.
Geist 2.0.6.5 64bit
Bitwig 1.3.12
OSX 10.11.5 13" /2,4gHz/ 8gb ram/nvidia geforce 320M 256mb

wurlt01
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 4:26 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby wurlt01 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:03 pm

Still wondering when will see new beta or version. Stuff that is broke from july 20th post almost at 70 days since bugs reported.

User avatar
quantize
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby quantize » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:24 am

I'd also love an update..

I still haven't figured out how to have my mappings recalled on startup, despite saving 'default' presets in all kinds of places (app support etc) on Mac OSX.

I'd really appreciate a step by step of the file name and location in mac osx to get them recalled on startup, because it either simply doesnt work or I'm too thick to suss it out...
Cubase 10 • Pro Tools 12 • Reason 10.x
FXpansion : DCAM Synth Squad, Strobe 2, Geist, Geist 2, Etch & Bloom

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (32GB Ram) OSX 10.13.6
UAD Apollo Quad • MOTU 828 mk2 & mk3

stufflin
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby stufflin » Thu Sep 29, 2016 7:43 pm

Ofcourse you can load mappings from Open Others in the File menu, but i guess you knew that.
Yes a personalized template would be nice, but i just saved a preset with the bindingfile in a recalled state and have to open that preset when i start.
I only all the time forget to save it as a copy.
(which isnt even possible, is it anyways?)
Geist 2.0.6.5 64bit
Bitwig 1.3.12
OSX 10.11.5 13" /2,4gHz/ 8gb ram/nvidia geforce 320M 256mb

stufflin
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby stufflin » Mon Oct 03, 2016 5:50 pm

Last update was July 14th. Its October 3rd! :shock:
Plus havent seen forum replies by the team in a long time either.

From Roli website;

"In the meantime check out BFD3, Strobe2, Geist2, and other FXpansion products — which are sold and supported exactly as they were before."
Geist 2.0.6.5 64bit
Bitwig 1.3.12
OSX 10.11.5 13" /2,4gHz/ 8gb ram/nvidia geforce 320M 256mb

konfront
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:06 am

Re: What's going on?

Postby konfront » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:13 am

my thoughts exactly. it's orphansville around here.

loekazz
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:23 am

Re: What's going on?

Postby loekazz » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:54 am


wurlt01
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 4:26 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby wurlt01 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:03 am

STill wondering when were gonna see updated version going on three and a half months since last update. WOuld love to have beta to try. I have given up on geist 2 was waiting to finish my maschine 2 template. But have been waiting for bug fixes.

seige313
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:54 am

Re: What's going on?

Postby seige313 » Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:58 am

I had to go back to using Geist 1 because Geist 2 crashes Ableton Live while cycling through the sounds. Its not as stable to use. A few people kept asking me about it but I can't really tell them because we're all Ableton users and its crash heavy..

stufflin
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby stufflin » Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:50 am

yesterday another crash while swapping pads. :/
Geist 2.0.6.5 64bit
Bitwig 1.3.12
OSX 10.11.5 13" /2,4gHz/ 8gb ram/nvidia geforce 320M 256mb

User avatar
Rory_FX
Posts: 2495
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: FXP:MCR

Re: What's going on?

Postby Rory_FX » Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:58 pm

Hi guys,

We *are* working on Geist2. We have fixed a lot of outstanding problems already and are hoping to push out an update soon. Bear with us!

loekazz
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:23 am

Re: What's going on?

Postby loekazz » Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:31 pm

Well, THAT is some great news!

Any idea of release date?

I'm really loving the concept of Geist, It's so intuitive and a great tool to use.
But indeed still some things need to be fixed or basic things to be added (triplets!). I hope it will be more stable and -if possible- a little lighter on the CPU...

Thanks for working on the update, looking forward to it.
Last edited by loekazz on Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby Kickflip » Thu Nov 03, 2016 6:04 am

Rory_FX wrote:Hi guys,

We *are* working on Geist2. We have fixed a lot of outstanding problems already and are hoping to push out an update soon. Bear with us!

That is great to hear :)

It does get difficult when there's all these bug fixes and outstanding feature requests laying dormant and unanswered. I think when bugs and important feature requests have been left for so long on some of your other products it has started to make your users nervous that it's an ongoing trend!
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32

Music
http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip

Circuit Bent Madness
http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

dmuckala
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:20 am

Re: What's going on?

Postby dmuckala » Thu Nov 17, 2016 11:02 pm

Can't open presets saved in VST version (not engine, but saved state of whole plugin)...just goes endlessly searcing for samples and then crashes. Also, midi mapping still not working for many parameters. 4 months FXP....please fix!

thisissami
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:47 pm

Re: What's going on?

Postby thisissami » Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:11 pm

@everybody who's been asking for bug fixes / updates - has FXPansion delivered at all? I'm in the market for a software drum sampler for both live performance + studio production, and as a fan of Strobe 2 decided to look into Geist 2. Was pretty sold on it while looking through features, until I came across these forums. Seems like the team isn't doing a great job of delivering a non-buggy product, and that CPU-usage is a concern (especially in the context of a live environment).

I'd love to know your honest thoughts on whether or not you'd recommend this software, and how FXPansion has been in regards to keeping Geist 2 usable.


Return to “Geist2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests