Some love for FX - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Some love for FX

User and tech support forum for Geist 2.

Moderator: Moderators

vasilios
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:06 am

Some love for FX

Postby vasilios » Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:23 pm

I know you guys have taken a beating on this forum for Geist 2, some of it was well warranted. But since the latest public beta, Ive been slowly been able to integrate G2 into my projects, and its starting to really shine. With all the nagging little bugs and things I wish were different, It cant be denied that this instrument can do things that can't be done in any other environment as quickly, or at all. Please keep up the promising work, and thanks

FluxMachina
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby FluxMachina » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:37 am

Yes! This is true.

I'm sure there are a lot of highly professional seasoned producers on here mixing it in with some part time dabblers.
As a part time dabbler I have never used a piece of music software on Windows that is as inviting as Geist. Even with all it's flaws I just cannot let it go. For this thing to be a drum sequencer and be better at playing the sampler role than the ones built into the two main live music hosts (except for key splits) is quite something, imho.

I'm happy to report that since the latest update it's been more stable. :)

FluxMachina
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby FluxMachina » Sun May 28, 2017 12:30 am

Sampled a snippet from an Internet Archive doc on the growth of detroit and ended up with a classic oldchool hardcore rave stab. The only time I clicked the mouse was to hit play on the video. I've now got this warm fuzzy feeling inside. 8) :)

Man, I can certainly relate to how those guys used to feel back in the day. Technology!

Here's the link:
https://archive.org/details/detroitspatternofgrowth

CakeAlexS
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:46 am

Re: Some love for FX

Postby CakeAlexS » Mon May 29, 2017 1:59 pm

You just need to read the outstanding issues in the release notes and the forum posts to see the health of the product.

I had a lot of love for FX even though they supplied a poor baked alpha state application at the beginning. That is because they supplied regular updates.

Now we seem to get updates once in a blue moon, and they are hardly comprehensive. It's obvious to me there is a lack of resources and/or will to finish it. I'm angry about this because I and others wasted a lot of time suppling FX with a lot of feedback..so they've lost my trust. Sorry FX.

djdrug
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:57 am

Re: Some love for FX

Postby djdrug » Tue May 30, 2017 5:20 am

Great program!
In my workflow Geist 2 has been smooth, stable and very inspiring.
Keep up the good work fx!

CakeAlexS
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:46 am

Re: Some love for FX

Postby CakeAlexS » Wed May 31, 2017 12:57 am

Geist 2 was released May 2016 in an alpha state.
For two months after that the Devs worked hard patching it but it wasn't enough. Then they went dead apart from logging bugs until just over 2 months ago. It was one update followed by a crash fix. This perhaps made it now feel like a beta and out of alpha. You will notice that according to the forums it's still in a beta state, no announcement it's out of beta.

Look at the outstanding issues in the release notes and on the forums.
So sorry but they aren't keeping up. Fact.

FluxMachina
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby FluxMachina » Wed May 31, 2017 1:42 pm

Yep, it is the unfinished orphaned product of FX but my god can you milk this thing for everything it has right. The Dark Matter kits are flippin' sweet. Got some patterns recorded in Geist being switched in Maschine causing some real ugly face business. Quite a combination! More shameless video posting here: https://youtu.be/wGoya4XIA8o
I really wish developers would let plugins receive on all midi channels like real hardware. This all roads lead to Ch1 thing is really annoying.

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby Kickflip » Thu Jun 01, 2017 2:19 am

FluxMachina wrote:Yep, it is the unfinished orphaned product of FX but my god can you milk this thing for everything it has right. The Dark Matter kits are flippin' sweet. Got some patterns recorded in Geist being switched in Maschine causing some real ugly face business. Quite a combination! More shameless video posting here: https://youtu.be/wGoya4XIA8o
I really wish developers would let plugins receive on all midi channels like real hardware. This all roads lead to Ch1 thing is really annoying.

Geist can receive on all MIDI channels though? Unless I'm misunderstanding something you're saying. I think Ableton Live had a thing where it could only send data on channel 1 though, not certain on the details.
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32

Music
http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip

Circuit Bent Madness
http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

FluxMachina
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby FluxMachina » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:02 pm

I meant to say daw developers. There's this thing where all incoming channels default to CH1. Bitwig has it, live has it and Maschine too.
Imagine having to use another midi cable to send to another channel on hardware, messy. In software we have to set up another track just to send to the channel we want. I know their reasoning is "just use another instance", but I don't want to. One is enough. :)

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby Kickflip » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:11 pm

Gotcha. Yeah, I use Logic and can access all channels at once. Helped me set up some proper fancy stuff, like having my MPD32 and connected to one MIDI input and my keyboard to another, but the MPD was set to channel 10 and then I put a little routing and modifier in the environment to always send the MPD to Geist's channel 9, so it'd always be controlling the engine that was selected in Geist, no matter what was selected on the Arrange page! Could have the master output selected... that MPD would still be controlling whatever engine Geist was displaying 8)
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32



Music

http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip



Circuit Bent Madness

http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

FluxMachina
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby FluxMachina » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:29 pm

Logic is awesome for all of that. I remember setting up a controller environment for the Creative Awe64 back in the day using logic, back when it was still available for the PC. The days of discovery as a young lad. :)

Your music sounds big by the way. Nice work!

Kickflip
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:24 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby Kickflip » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:36 pm

Thanks man, appreciate it!
Hackintosh Q6600 : 4Gb DDR2 : OSX Leopard 10.5.8 : Logic 9.1.5 : Mackie Onyx Satellite : UAD1 x 2 : Akai MPD32



Music

http://www.soundcloud.com/kickflip



Circuit Bent Madness

http://www.bogus-noise.co.uk

User avatar
schmidi
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:15 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby schmidi » Fri Jun 09, 2017 3:54 am

Yeah, warts and all Geist 2 is a BEAST!

vasilios
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:06 am

Re: Some love for FX

Postby vasilios » Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:08 am

For those of you wishing to control Geist 2 (and Geist 1) via channel 9 in Ableton.

1.Create instance of Geist
2. right click- select group (or command G on mac)
3. Label the new instrument rack (Geist MIDI in)
4 Drag an external instrument under Geist, to run in parallel.
5 On external instrument Assign MIDI To to Geist MIDI in
6 Under that select Geist midi in / geist 2/ 9.
7 under the keyzone editor for Geist 2, drag the range all the way to the left so only the lowest keys are in range

Kayvon
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:56 pm

Re: Some love for FX

Postby Kayvon » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:44 pm

Yep, when it works it's beautiful!

It does so many things so well, I'm rinsing the loop point/offsets more now and whilst I thought the number of engines/pad banks/layers was excessive when I first got into Guru / Geist I now am relieved that I don't run out of anything.

Yes I would like more stability, better standalone MIDI sync (or at least sync that actually works), general gremlins ironed out and a more rapid graph value refresh but I'm pretty much fully in and will sing the program's virtues to anyone who'll listen.

I still haven't got into song mode or snapshots so still a while to find my limits with this program ;)


Return to “Geist2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests