Geist2 - 2.1.2.10 - Page 2 - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Geist2 - 2.1.2.10

User and tech support forum for Geist 2.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
t.o.t.s.
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY.
Contact:

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby t.o.t.s. » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:23 am

Cool there's an update. A little bummed to see it's not supported on Win7. I know Win7 is older but I bought Geist 2 for a Windows 7 machine. If this were a new product or a new version I'd get it... but no support for something that released as supported software is kind of a drag. Unless I'm missing something. Anyway I also know it's a beta... any chance this'll be ok on WIn7 for a final release?

monk_volcano
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby monk_volcano » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:44 am

hi there,

I loaded it on windows 8.1 even though it's not supported. Was working great until I tried to save an engine, then Reaper crashed (newest version Reaper at the time of writing..



Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: reaper.exe
Application Version: 68.147.236.7
Application Timestamp: 5d6e95b2
Fault Module Name: Geist2.dll
Fault Module Version: 2.1.2.9
Fault Module Timestamp: 5d5687a9
Exception Code: c00000fd
Exception Offset: 00000000021d5b68
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: d7f8
Additional Information 2: d7f888c90630572a012e4d81d198f86e
Additional Information 3: 959c
Additional Information 4: 959c1552c9ad280141325936c7189dd1

shreyvogel
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:19 am

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby shreyvogel » Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:41 am

Hi there

Draging a sample in Studio One from the the browser in Studio one to the pads in Geist immediately crashes the program. I am on Win 10.

Lawrence_fx
Posts: 570
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:19 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby Lawrence_fx » Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:37 am

shreyvogel wrote:Hi there

Draging a sample in Studio One from the the browser in Studio one to the pads in Geist immediately crashes the program. I am on Win 10.


Thanks for the report, we'll take a look!

banned from europe union
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:43 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby banned from europe union » Fri Sep 27, 2019 11:56 am

Improved audio engine-

whats this mean?

User avatar
nexus2nexus
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 11:50 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby nexus2nexus » Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:42 am

Hello, I use Geist2 on Windows 10 using Digital Performer 10 and I cannot save a kit. Geist2 and DAW crash each time I attempt to select save after finding a save location. Just an FYI. Thanks for not abandoning Geist2.

stonberg
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby stonberg » Sat Sep 28, 2019 1:06 pm

t.o.t.s. wrote:Cool there's an update. A little bummed to see it's not supported on Win7. I know Win7 is older but I bought Geist 2 for a Windows 7 machine. If this were a new product or a new version I'd get it... but no support for something that released as supported software is kind of a drag. Unless I'm missing something. Anyway I also know it's a beta... any chance this'll be ok on WIn7 for a final release?


I have exactly the same question. The standalone version of Geist 2 has never worked for me under Win 7 64-bit (previously discussed with FXP via ROLI support), but the VST plugin works OK. Has support for Win 7 now been explicitly removed, or is it a "try it and see what happens" situation?

kxn
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:20 am

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby kxn » Sun Sep 29, 2019 12:11 pm

Lawrence_fx wrote:
shreyvogel wrote:Hi there

Draging a sample in Studio One from the the browser in Studio one to the pads in Geist immediately crashes the program. I am on Win 10.


Thanks for the report, we'll take a look!


Same happens in Cubase Pro 10:
If I drag a sample either from the media bay or the browser, Cubase crashes immediately as soon as I drag the sample and float over the GUI. A long failure message appears and I have to close Cubase with the Task Manager.

Windows 10.

Strangetown
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:43 am

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby Strangetown » Sun Sep 29, 2019 3:24 pm

With this update can I ask that the sequencer grid be improved so that it is possible to have 1/16 or better divisions please? Pretty much like a fully fledged DAW with adustable snap or snap off.

E2a it would also be nice if you would reconsider Win 7 support. I know that Microsoft are discontinuing support for it but i still use it on 1 of my laptops because I have still perfectly sevicable hardware (firewire sound module) that is not supported by 10

Equivalent
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:46 am

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby Equivalent » Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:05 pm

I just got a crash trying to save " Default Preset" after changing the pad levels to be Full*. It crashes in Cubase with a warning and stand alone too.

1 Open Geist2
2 Change pad levels to " Full Level"
3 Save as default preset from the menu.
4 Crash.

Win10 64-1903 OS build 18362.356, 16 GB Ram, Cubase 10 Pro.

Faulting application name: Geist2.exe, version: 2.0.7.38, time stamp: 0x5d5687d9
Faulting module name: Geist2.dll, version: 2.1.2.9, time stamp: 0x5d5687a9
Exception code: 0xc00000fd
Fault offset: 0x00000000021d5b68
Faulting process id: 0x15bc
Faulting application start time: 0x01d577090182417d
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\FXpansion\Geist2\Geist2.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\FXpansion\Geist2\Geist2.dll
Report Id: 7254988c-44c0-4fd3-85e1-1bef9c24ede0
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Lawrence_fx
Posts: 570
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:19 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby Lawrence_fx » Mon Sep 30, 2019 10:24 am

Thank you all for your issue reports - we're continuing to look into these and will be testing a follow-up build this week that we hope to be able to release very soon. Please keep us posted if you encounter any more issues; in the meantime, here's a list of the issues that have been resolved so far in this beta:

- [2.1.2.9] Fix a crash on Windows when saving.
- [2.1.2.9] Fix crash when dragging files from external sources into Geist pads.
- [2.1.2.9] Fix pad name not updating when loading a new sample onto a pad.
- [2.1.1.3] Fix the window title in standalone changing from Geist2 to Geist when loading a preset.
- [2.1.1.3] Fix typo in Windows installer.

NoelEiffe
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:47 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby NoelEiffe » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:44 pm

Hi folks. On Catalina 10.5 19A573a (the latest public beta), the installer crashes with a couple of errors after doing the unsigned open override from the mounted DMG:

Error:

ALERT!

Unable to automatically locate the InstallScript.
This file should normally be located in
CWD/Installer/InstallScript.fis
Please find the file required.

OK...then prompts with a file open dialog.

I downloaded twice to rule out a bad download, but this seems to be an issue.

Cheers, Scott

Lawrence_fx
Posts: 570
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:19 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby Lawrence_fx » Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:51 am

NoelEiffe wrote:Hi folks. On Catalina 10.5 19A573a (the latest public beta), the installer crashes with a couple of errors after doing the unsigned open override from the mounted DMG:

Error:

ALERT!

Unable to automatically locate the InstallScript.
This file should normally be located in
CWD/Installer/InstallScript.fis
Please find the file required.

OK...then prompts with a file open dialog.

I downloaded twice to rule out a bad download, but this seems to be an issue.

Cheers, Scott


Hi Scott, as per our recent mailouts and forum posts, we encourage all users not to update to macOS 10.15 Catalina until we give the all-clear. We've found some issues with our installers that we're working to fix, but until these are updated, we highly recommend not updating to macOS 10.15 Catalina, as in the worst case it will prevent a successful installation.

banned from europe union
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:43 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby banned from europe union » Wed Oct 02, 2019 10:55 am

banned from europe union wrote:Improved audio engine-

whats this mean?

its means better audio engine is better sound

User avatar
quantize
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: Geist2 Public Beta - 2.1.2.9

Postby quantize » Thu Oct 03, 2019 1:42 pm

Ok i can't believe im having to report this bug but here goes..

for years now ive been sub-foldering the Geist2 plugin and editing the SA app plist to simply redirect to VST/Fxpansion/Geist2.vst

so all my fxpansion stuff is easily found in one place and my VST folder is not a big ass mess...

but now this simple thing makes the stand alone crash..with :

Termination Reason: Namespace CODESIGNING, Code 0x1

kernel messages:

VM Regions Near 0 (cr2):
-->
__TEXT 0000000100623000-0000000100629000 [ 24K] r-x/rwx SM=COW ( []

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 ??? 0x00000001027aa19c _dyld_start + 0

Thread 0 crashed with X86 Thread State (64-bit):
rax: 0x0000000000000000 rbx: 0x0000000000000000 rcx: 0x0000000000000000 rdx: 0x0000000000000000
rdi: 0x0000000000000000 rsi: 0x0000000000000000 rbp: 0x0000000000000000 rsp: 0x00007ffeef5dcc20
r8: 0x0000000000000000 r9: 0x0000000000000000 r10: 0x0000000000000000 r11: 0x0000000000000000
r12: 0x0000000000000000 r13: 0x0000000000000000 r14: 0x0000000000000000 r15: 0x0000000000000000
rip: 0x00000001027aa19c rfl: 0x0000000000000200 cr2: 0x0000000000000000

Logical CPU: 0
Error Code: 0x00000000
Trap Number: 0


please fix, i'd like to be able to keep my stuff reasonably neat.
Cubase 10 • Pro Tools 12 • Reason 10.x
FXpansion : DCAM Synth Squad, Strobe 2, Geist, Geist 2, Etch & Bloom

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (32GB Ram) OSX 10.13.6
UAD Apollo Quad • MOTU 828 mk2 & mk3


Return to “Geist2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests