new to geist2 - questions - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

new to geist2 - questions

User and tech support forum for Geist 2.

Moderator: Moderators

apricotandpearjam
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:15 pm

new to geist2 - questions

Postby apricotandpearjam » Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:16 pm

hi all.
im new to geist2 and have some questions.
it seems like its going to be one of the best pieces of software for beat making but some things are a bit confusing to me.
I lay a beat down in engine 1 and then go to engine to so I can chop up a sample.
but when I play midi from my controller its still only sending to engine one.
I guess im using the engines as 'tracks' to separate out my parts.
ive seen that you have to change the midi channel on your controller to access each engine which makes no sense to me.
I just want to be able to get my ideas down quickly, rather than having to go into the midi menu of my controller and change it each time I want to put down an idea.

the other thing id like to know is if there is a way to get Geist to quantise each new part you add in after recording?

fmc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:36 pm

Re: new to geist2 - questions

Postby fmc » Thu May 07, 2020 2:56 am

Hi. You will want to set your controller to channel 9. Then it will control whichever engine is selected.

The Q button underneath the record button is for input quantize.

more info is on pages 13 and 29 in the manual


Return to “Geist2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron