Host specific usage guides - Fxpansion.com

Forum

FXpansion Forum

Host specific usage guides

Support forum for DCAM: Dynamics

Moderators: Drew_fx, SKoT_FX, Moderators

Drew_fx
Posts: 3828
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Host specific usage guides

Postby Drew_fx » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:50 pm

Cubase 5 and above

How to use The BusComp and CrossComp sidechain inputs in Cubase 5 and above.

1. Open your mixer view, and right click the background.
2. Choose 'add track' and choose 'group channel'.
3. In the window that pops up, click the drop-down menu under 'configuration'.
4. In the menu you've now got open, go to More... and choose the 'quadro' type.
5. Click the 'add track' button to confirm this track addition.
6. Now in the Cubase main menu bar, go to the devices section, and choose 'VST connections'.
7. Go to the tab called 'Group/FX'.
8. The quadro group you added will be in the list. Right click it.
9. Go to the 'add child bus' sub-menu, and you'll see 'Stereo' and 'Stereo (Ls Rs) - add both of these.
10. Add either BusComp or CrossComp as an insert effect to the Group track, in the Cubase mixer.
11. Now from within your Cubase mixer, you can route any track to these child-busses. Anything you send to the first child-bus will go to the main inputs. Anything you send to the second child-bus will go to the sidechain input.

It is also worth mentioning that if you double-click the bus names in the VST Connections page, you can rename them. Suggested names would be 'Main' for the first child-bus, and 'Sidechain' for the second child-bus.

Drew_fx
Posts: 3828
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_fx » Fri Jul 06, 2012 3:51 pm

Ableton Live 8

How to route audio into either the BusComp or CrossComp sidechain input in Ableton Live 8.

1. Insert BusComp or CrossComp onto an audio track.
2. From your other tracks, select the audio track that BusComp or CrossComp is on, from the output drop-down menu.
3. There is a second drop-down menu per track. It will say 'track in' at this point. You can change this to 'BusComp-In' or 'CrossComp-In' which corresponds to the sidechain input for the plugin.

Drew_fx
Posts: 3828
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Drew_fx » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:50 pm

Reserved for future use...


Return to “DCAM: Dynamics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests